My beautiful mess of a manuscript

Hello, my hearts!  I’ve been working hard the past week or so to knock out the first round of continuity edits on the Viking novella, insert some new scenes, and start the second round of continuity edits.

Yes, I know, there are a lot of continuity edits. That’s what happens when you decide the back story of a couple of characters needs overhauling and the villain needs to be not only villainous, but also a heinous monstrosity. Things get a mite jumbled.

Basically, I feel like all my words are turning on me in a fit of pointy, grammatically incorrect rage.

But maybe, if we all cross our fingers, MAYBE I’ll be ready for beta readers by the beginning of fall.

My current struggles involve the following:

-       Alternate history fantasy VS. Historical fantasy. Yes, I am aware maybe I should have figured that out at the beginning of the story. Yes, it happened because I was doing research on an as-needed basis. I told you once already, I do things the hard way.

  • Sub-issue: Historically plausible weapons and body armor for men and women. All from the same time period.

-       Geography. Nothing is ever where I think it is, even in my brain.

-       The love story. Kind of needs to be there or else character motivations go all wonky, but I can’t. I can’t even right now, you guys.

-       THE TROPES. Holy God, there was one that just appeared out of nowhere to mock me, I didn’t even realize it was a trope even though it’s a HUGE, GLARING CLICHÉ OF A TROPE. Is there a twelve-step program for this?

  • Twitter led me to discover this. Twitter is the bane of my existence, and my savior.

-       One of the bad guys is, like, superfluous. But the thing is, he is also a fulcrum of the story. Conundrum.

I could really go on and on. I know it sounds as though I should just scrap the whole thing and start over, but I really like this story, and it can work and be excellent. It just has a lot of kinks.

Kind of like when you are remodeling your house, and you start tearing down drywall to put up the new stuff and lo, there’s mold, dry rot, wonky electrical wiring, and possibly a nest of mutant, rabid opossums. BUT. But. Get all those things straightened out, maybe replace a few 2x4s, and the house becomes your dream home. It sparkles.

You can see the potential the whole time even though the mutant opossums are staring at you with dead, hungry eyes.

It’s a beautiful mess.

2 responses to “My beautiful mess of a manuscript

Leave a Reply

