Have 60 seconds, courtesy of Mr. Bradbury

I have been very remiss in working on my Viking story lately. Life, as they say, got in the way. If it wasn’t a sick cat, it was crazy stress at work. If it wasn’t work stress, it was guilt about not writing recently. If it wasn’t guilt, it was random emotional baggage.

You get the idea.

Then I stumbled across this quote:

“I don’t believe in being serious about anything. I think life is too serious to be taken seriously.”
—Ray Bradbury

It made me feel better. I have been taking life too seriously, letting even the minor stresses really get to me. That’s no good, my hearts. It kept me from what I love doing most, which is writing.

So, today, if you feel yourself getting stressed out or overwhelmed or over emotional, I want you to take a minute and go elsewhere. Take 60 seconds and go outside, leave the room, or close your eyes and go to your happy place. Take 60 seconds to remind yourself that this, too, shall pass. You can get through it. Meanwhile, find something to laugh about.

Take 60 seconds and giggle. Take 60 seconds and write–something, anything.  Or if you aren’t a writer, take 60 seconds and do the art of your choice.

Serious things happen. Life happens. But, there will always be laughter and art. And once the seriousness of life passes there will be even more time for laughter and art. Work through the darkness and you will find another light.

One more quote for my word-nerds:

“Let the world burn through you. Throw the prism light, white-hot, on paper.”
—Ray Bradbury

Happy Wednesday, my doves.

Leave a Reply

